Individualized Systems Medicine

OK.jpg

Making cancer care more effective and individualized is a central aim for cancer researchers worldwide. This is usually being pursued via DNA sequencing based efforts and the identification of oncogenic driver mutations. We believe and have emerging evidence that this will miss many therapeutic opportunities. In contrast, individualized systems medicine (ISM) may help to uncover targeted drugs and drug combinations with unexpected cancer-specific therapeutic potential.

Our new individualized systems medicine study is as part of a "grand challenge" programme at FIMM to improve cancer therapy. Using adult Acute Myeloid Leukaemia (AML) as a model disease, we aim to: (1) identify effective targeted drugs for AML patients by ex-vivo DSRT as well as genomic and molecular profiling, (2) understand how the molecular and functional features change during drug response and resistance based on paired samples, (3) create individual systems medicine models of AML driver signals and drug response/resistance, (4) translate these data towards individualized cancer treatment. The personalised medicine collaboration involves Wennerberg, Heckman/Knowles, Aittokallio and Lundin groups at FIMM and clinical collaborators at HUS.

 

 

Selected publications:

  • Koskela HLM, Eldfors S, Ellonen P, van Adrichem AJ, Kuusanmäki H, Andersson EI, Lagström S, ClementeMJ, Olson T, Jalkanen SE, Majumder MM, Almusa H, Edgren H, Lepistö M, Mattila P, Guinta K, Koistinen P, Kuittinen T, Penttinen K, Parsons A, Knowles J, Saarela J, Wennerberg K, Kallioniemi O, Porkka K, Loughran TP, Heckman C, Maciejewski JP, Mustjoki S. Somatic STAT3 Mutations in Large Granular Lymphocyte Leukemia. NEJM, 2012 May 17;366(20):1905-13

group photo.JPG

Group Members

Olli Kallioniemi Director, Group leader

olli.kallioniemi[at]helsinki.fi

Susanna Rosas Assistant to Director susanna.rosas[at]helsinki.fi
Taija af Hällström Senior Researcher taija.afhallstrom[at]helsinki.fi
Vilja Pietiäinen Senior Researcher vilja.pietiainen[at]helsinki.fi
Maija Wolf Senior Researcher
maija.wolf[at]helsinki.fi
Päivi –stling Senior Researcher paivi.ostling[at]helsinki.fi
Akira Hirasawa Visiting Scientist akira.hirasawa[at]helsinki.fi
Sara Kangaspeska Postdoctoral Researcher
sara.kangaspeska[at]helsinki.fi
Astrid Murumägi Postdoctoral Researcher astrid.murumagi[at]helsinki.fi
Teijo Pellinen Postdoctoral Researcher teijo.pellinen[at]helsinki.fi
Anna Aakula PhD student anna.aakula[at]helsinki.fi
Sami Blom PhD student sami.blom[at]helsinki.fi
Poojitha Ojamies PhD student poojitha.kotavenkata[at]helsinki.fi
Disha Malani PhD student disha.malani[at]helsinki.fi
John Patrick Mpindi PhD student john.mpindi[at]helsinki.fi
Khalid Saeed PhD student khalid.saeed[at]helsinki.fi
Vesa Rahkama PhD student vesa.rahkama[at]helsinki.fi
Sanna Timonen Research Assistant
sanna.timonen[at]helsinki.fi
Himanshu Chheda Rotation student himanshu.chheda[at]helsinki.fi
Susanne Hultsch Project Researcher susanne.hultsch[at]helsinki.fi
Mariliina Arjama Senior Laboratory Technician mariliina.arjama[at]helsinki.fi
Katja Välimäki Senior Laboratory Technician
katja.valimaki[at]helsinki.fi
Jenni Säilä Laboratory Technician jenni.saila[at]helsinki.fi

The research in our group is supported by:

af_300px.pngbf_small.jpgJuselius_small.jpg

hbgs.jpgLogo_syopajarjestot_small.tif

Contact person

Olli Kallioniemi

+358 9 191 25732